BRITS hoping for a Christmas holiday abroad will need to check before booking their trip due to new Covid bans being enforced on tourists.

Here are the countries which have banned Brits, or are forcing UK arrivals into long quarantines on arrival.


Brits are banned from Australia, unless they fall under a specified exempt list, such as if you are immediate family of an Australian citizen.


Bhutan's borders are closed to all foreign nationals, including Brits.

The Bhutan government has not yet specified when the country will reopen to foreign visitors.


The Chinese authorities have suspended all direct flights from the UK.

It is yet to be announced when this rule will be reviewed.

Falkland Islands

Tourists are not permitted to visit the Falkland Islands, including via cruise vessels.

Friends of residents can visit if they are sponsored by an island resident who is present in the Falklands at the time of arrival.

They will be subject to quarantine for up to 14 days.


Only Brits travelling for essential reasons can visit France, regardless of whether they are vaccinated.

Travellers with an essential reason, for example, to see a dying relative, must present a negative PCR or antigen test result taken within 24 hours of departing.


Brits are not allowed to visit Germany for tourism reasons.

Only travellers from the UK who are German nationals are able to travel to Germany.

Most read in News Travel


EasyJet launches summer 2022 sale with new routes from £15pp


Woman left stunned after finding her Airbnb is inside a restaurant


Inside the new long-haul budget airline that bans kids in part of the plane


Spanish holidays could be saved with new travel corridor


Indonesia is has banned UK tourists from entering the country due to Covid.


Last week, Brits were banned from entering Israel.


Brits who do not have existing resident status are not permitted to enter Japan for any purpose, other an in exceptional circumstances.

Brits with residence in Japan will be denied entry if they are travelling from some African countries.


From today, all travellers from the UK, irrespective of their vaccination status or possession of a negative test, must quarantine for 10 days.

This can be reduced to five days if the person receives a negative test result from the Dutch authorities on day five.

New Zealand

The New Zealand border is currently closed to almost all arrivals, including Brits.

You may be able to travel to New Zealand while the border is closed if you are considered to have a critical purpose to travel, for example, if you are a health worker.


Entry to Malaysia for Brits is prohibited.

Some exemptions may apply, including Brits with permanent resident status and those married to Malaysian nationals.


Morocco banned all UK arrivals back in October, giving travellers less than one day's notice.

Brits can no longer travel to the country, with no plans to lift the ban this year.


Taiwanese authorities have announced a temporary ban on foreign nationals entering the country.

Exceptions apply to foreign spouses of Taiwanese nationals, international students and researchers.


Vietnam has suspended entry into the country for all foreign nationals.

There are a small number of exceptions for certain highly skilled workers, which will be processed on a case by case basis.

Here are the other countries which have banned tourists due to Covid right now:

  • Cook Islands
  • Eritrea
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Iran
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • South Korea
  • Suriname
  • Tonga
  • Turkmenistan

    Source: Read Full Article