NEW rules are in place for Brits heading abroad this summer.

Since the UK left the EU, holidaymakers must follow a number of new restrictions when it comes to their passports.

Brits heading to countries in Europe must have at least three months left on their passport to be allowed into the country.

According to VisaGuide.World there are more then 40 countries that have a 6-month passport rule which includes popular holiday hotspots including Portugal, Greece and Spain.

The full list of destinations where you need at least three months on your passport are:

  • Albania
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Czechia
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Honduras
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait

Read more travel stories

The seven easy ways your passport could be REJECTED

Expert reveals how to beat passport renewal queue – as Brits wait up to 18 weeks

  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Nauru
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Senegal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

The expiry date may not be accurate either, as new UK rules no longer allow passports to be more than 10 years old.

Previous rules allowed Brits to roll over up to nine additional months when renewing a passport – these are no longer valid.

Most read in Travel


Man shows how to keep plane seat empty next to you – and some call it creepy


Portugal holiday warning as country declares ‘eight-day state of alert’


Travel experts reveal the 6 things you should NEVER put in your carry on luggage


Spain heatwave warning as ‘urgent alert’ issued across holiday hotspots

The start date – or 'date of issue' – is the important thing to be checked on your passport to avoid any last-minute chaos.

You should make sure the start date is 10 years or less when you are travelling.

Some Brits have fallen victim to this new rule, and only realising it when they were turned away from their flight.

Back in November, a mum was banned from her flight after she was told her passport was out of date – even though it wasn't.

Read More on The Sun

I’m a jeweller – my least favourite engagement rings & what to do if you hate yours

Spain holiday warning as UK gov issue new summer travel advice

And one woman lost out on her £2,600 dream holiday due to confusion over her passport's expiry dates.

Here is everything you need to know about a passport renewal.

Which countries do I need more than three months on my passport?

There are more than 70 countries where you have to have at least six months left on your passport, not three. These are:

  • Afghanistan
  • Anguilla
  • Algeria
  • Arabia
  • Bahrain
  • Bhutan
  • Botswana
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Cayman Islands
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Côte D’Ivoire
  • Curacao
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Laos
  • Madagascar
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nicaragua
  • Nigeria
  • Oman
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Palau
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Saudi
  • Singapore
  • Saint Lucia
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somaliland
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname
  • Sudan
  • Taiwan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tokelau
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zimbabwe

    Source: Read Full Article