THE UK government has announced the regional tiers, with the majority of the UK in tier 2 or tier 3.

Here is what you need to know about travelling between the tiers and going on holiday.

What are the holiday rules for tier 3?

Tier 3 is the highest risk, with the most rules in place.

Holidays cannot go ahead with hotels and restaurants closed, while households are only allowed to travel for essential reasons.

No mingling of households is allowed, with no meetings of six either inside or outside.

This means no travelling to tier 2 or tier 1 regions either.

Despite only non-essential travel, going on holiday abroad is still allowed.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps confirmed tier 3 residents would be able to travel abroad for leisure – but only if they go “straight to the airport”.

What are the holiday rules for tier 2?

The majority of the country is in tier 2, which is still a high risk.

Holidays can go ahead in tier 2, with hotels and holiday resorts able to open, but this must only be as a household – you cannot go on holiday with other friends and families.

Pubs and restaurants will remain open as long as they are serving food, and the rule of six is allowed when outside, but not inside.

Travelling to tier 1 is allowed, although must only be as a household.

Travelling to tier 3 is advised against.

Going abroad is also allowed in tier 2.

Full list of regions in tier 1, tier 2 and tier 3


  • Cornwall
  • Isle of Wight
  • Isles of Scilly


  • Cumbria
  • Liverpool City Region
  • Warrington and Cheshire


  • York
  • North Yorkshire

West Midlands

  • Worcestershire
  • Herefordshire
  • Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin

East Midlands

  • Rutland
  • Northamptonshire

East of England

  • Suffolk
  • Hertfordshire
  • Cambridgeshire, including Peterborough
  • Norfolk
  • Essex, Thurrock and Southend on Sea
  • Bedfordshire and Milton Keynes


  • all 32 boroughs plus the City of London

South East

  • East Sussex
  • West Sussex
  • Brighton and Hove
  • Surrey
  • Reading
  • Wokingham
  • Bracknell Forest
  • Windsor and Maidenhead
  • West Berkshire
  • Hampshire (except the Isle of Wight), Portsmouth and Southampton
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire

South West

  • South Somerset, Somerset West and Taunton, Mendip and Sedgemoor
  • Bath and North East Somerset
  • Dorset
  • Bournemouth
  • Christchurch
  • Poole
  • Gloucestershire
  • Wiltshire and Swindon
  • Devon


North East

  • Tees Valley Combined Authority:
  • Hartlepool
  • Middlesbrough
  • Stockton-on-Tees
  • Redcar and Cleveland
  • Darlington
  • North East Combined Authority:
  • Sunderland
  • South Tyneside
  • Gateshead
  • Newcastle upon Tyne
  • North Tyneside
  • County Durham
  • Northumberland

North West

  • Greater Manchester
  • Lancashire
  • Blackpool
  • Blackburn with Darwen

Yorkshire and The Humber

  • The Humber
  • West Yorkshire
  • South Yorkshire

West Midlands

  • Birmingham and Black Country
  • Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent
  • Warwickshire, Coventry and Solihull

East Midlands

  • Derby and Derbyshire
  • Nottingham and Nottinghamshire
  • Leicester and Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire

South East

  • Slough (remainder of Berkshire is tier 2: High alert)
  • Kent and Medway

South West

  • Bristol
  • South Gloucestershire
  • North Somerset

What are the holiday rules for tier 1?

Tier 1 is the lowest risk, with just a few destinations in the tier.

Only Cornwall, Isle of Wight and the Isles of Scilly are in tier 1.

Holidays can go ahead in tier 1, with mixing inside allowed of up to six people.

There are no travel restrictions within tier 1, and tier 1 and also travel into tier 2, but only in their households.

It is advised against travelling to tier 3.

Going abroad is also allowed in tier 1.

Brits have flocked to a new government postcode checker that reveals what tiers each local authority will be in as the country comes out of a second coronavirus lockdown.

The government has opened its online postcode checker, but the website crashed this morning after Brits rushed to the site to find out what tier they would be placed in.

There are 31 in the highest level, 38 areas in the middle Tier 2, and just three parts of England will be under the lowest level of restrictions.

Source: Read Full Article