Missy Elliott will join the ranks of a number of musical titans to be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame at the 50th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner.

Elliott, along with Dallas Austin, Tom T. Hall, John Prine, Jack Tempchin and Yusuf / Cat Stevens will be honored at the star-studded induction ceremony to he held on June 13 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.

Special award honorees will be named soon, the Songwriters Hall Of Fame announced.

Established in 1969, the Songwriters Hall of Fame (SHOF) serves as a vital bridge between music’s past and future. To qualify for induction, a songwriter must be a published writer for a minimum of 20 years with a notable catalog of hit songs.

SHOF Chairman Nile Rodgers said that the 2019 slate of inductees represents “diversity and unity across genres and gender, highlighting our dedicated mission to honor music creators who have enriched our lives”.

“These are writers who in their time literally transformed music and helped make what’s happening today possible,” he added.

Source: Read Full Article